Those who bought the DLC for Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot can finally ascend to the next level of power: Super Saiyan God. The first "Boss Battle" scenario introduces the angel Whis and an epic battle with God of Destruction Beerus. Just like in the anime and manga, Goku and Vegeta can train with Whis to achieve to the red-haired super form. But the events leading to the power-up happen differently in Kakarot, and we're here to break down the changes.

How Super Saiyan God Happens in DBZ: Kakarot

Via Bandai Namco

The one big change in Kakarot is that Beerus and Whis can appear right away. There's now a separate section in the pause menu titled "Downloadable Content." Selecting it brings up a menu of the three DLC stories. Of course, only Part 1 is available at the moment, but it can be chosen no matter where you are in the story. Selecting it transports Goku and Vegeta to Beerus' planet. There they are greeted by Whis and told that their potential intrigued Beerus, and that they will be trained to reach a level of power that can entertain the god. Thus begins a series of training battles.

These training battles start with a level 5 Whis and end with a level 75 Whis. Whis' level goes up in increments connected to whenever in the story Goku/Vegeta attain a new level of Super Saiyan. Whenever Whis is defeated, he will tap his staff on the ground and give Goku/Vegeta a new level of Super Saiyan. The increasing levels are meant to act as road blocks so that Goku isn't going to Namek as Super Saiyan 3, but the player could still manage to achieve new power before they're supposed to.

It all culminates in Beerus finally deeming the Saiyans worthy of a fight. When that happens, Whis will reveal the legend of Super Saiyan God. Five Saiyans are needed to power up a sixth. To help with this, Goten, Trunks, Gohan, and Future Trunks are called to do the ritual with Goku and Vegeta.


RELATED: Should DBZ: Kakarot Have A Sequel Or Just More DLC?

How Super Saiyan God Happens in The Anime/Manga

via: DBZ Wiki

The original story has Beerus and Whis show up under much more dramatic circumstances. Beerus receives a prophecy from the Oracle Fish about fighting a Super Saiyan God. Then he goes to sleep and promptly forgets it. He awakens to snack and destroys some planets, but is soon reminded of the Super Saiyan God. Seeking a challenge he hasn't had in some time, he goes looking for Goku after learning that he went Super Saiyan to defeat Frieza.

After easily defeating Super Saiyan 3 Goku and the Z Warriors, Beerus demands Super Saiyan God. He even threatens to destroy Earth if left unsatisfied. Goku summons Shenron with the Dragon Balls, using a wish to learn of the Super Saiyan God ritual. Just like in the game, five Saiyans are needed to empower Goku. Only in this version, Videl uses the chance to reveal she's pregnant with Gohan's child. Thus the unborn Pan is used to create Super Saiyan God instead of Future Trunks.

NEXT: 10 Things You Didn’t Know About Resident Evil Gaiden On Game Boy Color

Why Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart Should Win Game Of The Year

Insomniac Games' gorgeous platformer is one of 2021's brightest gaming sparks.

Read Next
About The Author